Kamala Awards 2018

Event Details

  • Date:


The Crafts Council of India is a not-for-profit, nongovernmental organization or NGO which works for the sustainable development and growth of India’s handicrafts and craft artisans. CCI was founded in 1964 by Smt. Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay whose passion and leitmotif in life was the survival, nurturing and growth of India’s treasure house of crafts and to make crafts part of the country’s everyday life. CCI has followed this philosophy and trajectory through multi prong strategies and programmes: workshops in design and product development, revival of languishing crafts, documentation, marketing, educate to sustain programmes for children of hereditary craft persons and lobbying for the crafts sector. CCI also acknowledges the skills and contribution of outstanding craft persons through Annual Awards.

The Crafts Council of India instituted the Annual Kamala Awards in 2000 in memory of Smt. Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay to honor and recognize craft activists and hereditary craft artisans for their work.

The specific categories under which the Kamala Awards are given are:

Category A – Kamala Award for ‘Excellence in Crafts’: 

The Kamala Award for Excellence in Craftsmanship instituted by The Crafts Council of India in the year 2000 recognises the high level and proficiency of skill achieved in his/her traditional craft by an artisan, as exhibited in his/her body of work executed over the years.

Category B – Shanta Prasad Award for ‘Excellence in Handloom Weaving’: 

Since 2005, The Crafts Council of India has been administering the Shanta Prasad Award for Excellence in Craft. This award has been instituted in memory of late Smt. Shanta Prasad, CCI member and treasurer, by her family.

Category C – Kamala Award for ‘Contribution to Crafts’: 

The Kamala Award for Contribution to Crafts instituted by The Crafts Council of India in the year 2000 honours a senior craftsperson for his/her contribution towards the development of traditional craft and the training of younger people in the skill.

Kamala Samman: The Kamala Samman Award of The Crafts Council of India is the highest among the Kamala Awards.  It recognises and honours a senior person whose long and dedicated work in the field has significantly benefitted craft communities and transformed their lives.

The Kamala Awardees for the year 2018 will be announced on April 3rd 2018 at the Kamala Award Ceremony in Chennai.